The State of the (Carbon) Nation: Update on carbon pricing in Canada and assessing potential impacts to the retail sector

June 26, 2019

| 1:00pm ET

1:00 pm EDT (Toronto) | 11:00 am CST (Saskatchewan) | 10:00 am PDT (Vancouver). 

Since the adoption of the Paris Agreement in 2016, governments around the world have been looking long and hard at ways to reduce their greenhouse gas (GHG) emissions. From investments in renewable energy to establishing performance standards and increasing energy efficiency, the way in which we live, work and do business is shifting.  In addition to these measures, carbon pricing is being increasingly seen as an essential policy tool to achieve meaningful GHG emission reductions. As a result, there is growing momentum among countries and businesses around the world to put a price on carbon in order to reduce GHG emissions and drive innovation. The World Bank reports that in 2019, 46 national jurisdictions and over 28 cities, states, and regions, have put a price on carbon. The Canadian federal government has implemented its carbon pricing backstop, which is designed to supplement provincial carbon pricing systems that do not meet the federal standard. This session will explore carbon pricing mechanisms, provide an update on carbon pricing initiatives across the country, and consider the potential impacts of carbon pricing to the retail sector.

Presented by: Selina Lee-Andersen, McCarthy Tétrault LLP (Vancouver, BC)

 

Be heard. Save money. Stay informed.

Become a member